14 Comments
Oct 13, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Yep, and then I discovered GOG and thought I could go back to the episode/mission-based games of the 90s I used to love, crappy VGA graphics and all, but I am still too busy...

Expand full comment

I have a 12 year old and 10 year old and literally just started playing my first assassins creed game today and loved it for all the reasons you say above. I have been playing slay the spire which is a card game on Xbox and also allows quicker games. It’s very satisfying ambling around on a horse in Ancient Greece.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

The Nintendo Switch has been a lifeline for this tired dad. Pick it up, have a game load in seconds, just where you left off, and I can take it into another room so the kids don’t hear me slaughtering freaks in Bioshock.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

The whole point of pointless vehicular homicide was to get the cops chasing you so you could try and outrun them, therefore not pointless.

Expand full comment

Have spent way too much time playing Halo. Sniping a Brute with a head shot?

Boom!

Expand full comment

I still make time for gaming every week. It is house lore / law here. 'Twas so before the great union and 'tis so now. But I do make sure to hold up the rest of the domestic bargain.

Seriously, gaming has been of great solace to me over the years, particularly during the last couple.

Expand full comment

Get that pomodoro out - 30 minutes of game time a day. That's how I ended up beating Elden Ring - just chip away every day.

Expand full comment

I'm about to show my age but I got into gaming via my older brother via the Sierra Quest games (Police Quest was my favourite), and then got older and forgot about gaming for a bit until I found, you guessed it, Assassin's Creed. That franchise has probably done more for turning history nerds into gamers than anything else.

I've diligently worked my way through the entire franchise until Syndicate, at which point I had to wait for Origins, and then, like you, found myself too busy to game, and THEN discovered that my beloved gaming laptop was too old and too slow to run Origins, and now I'm stuck in a limbo of saying to myself that I must really invest in a new desktop gaming rig, while not having the time to go shopping for one, let alone actually do any gaming. And then pandemic shortages etc etc etc. But one day, soon, I will get back into gaming, I promise myself.

When I started my current job literally weeks before the pandemic hit, I deeply impressed a little squad of gamers that I was assigned to sit with, who had noticed my Assassin's Creed phone case and wanted to know if I was an XBox or PS gamer, since we had 2 of each in our pod of desks and were looking for a tie breaker to decide the superior console.

"PC..." I informed them smugly.

"OOOOOOOOOOOH...."

If you want to get back into gaming, AC Origins has an "education" function where you can literally just wander around ancient Egypt checking out the sights without worrying about getting murdered or being restricted because you have to complete a quest. For a time poor history nerd I feel that would be incredibly soothing and satisfying.

Expand full comment