10 Comments
Jul 4, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I love napping - ever since i was a kid in highschool where i think i had glandular fever. I would get home curl up in the cats spot in the sun and sleep (if i wasnt riding my bike somewhere). 20min power naps are my speciality and can be taken anywhere - on the couch, on the bus, standing in line, waiting for the drop ship to get through the atmosphere before investigating a nest of aliens, the list is endless.

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

The University of Western Australia's Centre for Sleep Science references published work which supports the expectation that on average people sleep less as they age.

The positive for you is there is a lot of study which show a negative correlation to managing weight and good sleep so take the 10 hours if you can. If you can take the sleep as daytime naps another study published in the journal Sleep Health, analysed data from people aged 40 to 69 and found a causal link between habitual napping and larger total brain volume - a marker of good brain health linked to a lower risk of dementia and other diseases.

For myself ever since the beginning of this pandemic (you know there are going to be more) I find roughly once a week I wake after 5 hours and cannot return to sleep. It doesn't seem to impair my work, though that may speak to my work and if I was a creative type like yourself it would be more impacted.

Expand full comment

Enjoy the sleep JB, I normally wake around then when the drugs wear off. More drugs and wait for them to kick in and off to sleep I hopefully go again

Expand full comment

I don't think it's need, but get less sleep as you supposed to be waking a few times a night with incontinence.

Expand full comment

Cut down on the caffeine and the booze, don't think you are still 18 on the mat and order a rocking chair young man ;-)

Expand full comment

It's not what it seems. They're all zonked out during the day instead after going hard all night on the juice and a handful of pills. You don't hear anything about that.

Expand full comment