17 Comments
Jul 15, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

It seems Matthew Inman at The Oatmeal is about a day ahead of you. I'm really only on FB for the Aunties/Cousins etc. I feel they would fade out of existence without FB.

I wonder what the downside of not knowing which Auntie is feeling poorly this week would be?

Expand full comment

We should all sign up to Gettr. It’s bound to be a bastion of truth, justice and the American way.

Yeah Truth, Justice and the American way. Now I understand why the they are listed as three independent virtues.

Expand full comment

You leave the fbk I'll be right behind you. I've never seen any real benefit to being there, and a lot of downside.

Expand full comment

Yes, as usual Trofliditie!

Expand full comment

I probably need to switch it all over to substack, if it had video I definitely would since I seem to be constantly hit by demonetisation and bans by the google monolith every other day. Facebook is just endless mother in law meme postings, which are the same bloody memes posted by 30 year olds in the days of yore. Don't get me started on the idiotic spruikers of crystals, positive vibe merchants and get rich schemes. Like if there was a scheme, then 1) it wouldn't be advertised 2) it wouldn't cost anything. And lame ass sociology grads, sorry kids you're wrong.

Expand full comment

Putting your private life out in public had always seemed stupid to me. Putting your kid's private life out there is beyond stupid.

I said no to FB long ago.

Expand full comment

I never joined facebook. I've been called a luddite by friends, colleagues, passing acquaintances and even my own daughters. I've managed to not give a fuck and have somehow muddled along none the less.

Expand full comment

I deactivated FB for months and the only thing I missed was updates from a couple of people as it was my only way of communicating with them. In the end I decided if that was my only form of communicating with them then that was indicative of a bigger failing on my part.

The issue is I have started running with a group I really enjoy, but unfortunately all their events are listed on FB and you need to use that to opt in. So now i am reactivated just to do that and I largely ignore it otherwise.

Twitter is great for following sporting events live as a supplement or replacement for following the broadcast. Other than that i don't really use it.

Instagram has pretty pictures.

Expand full comment

I have thought about it, shutting down FB but I find two things keep me on there. Trolling Kiwis about rugby and the funny stuff a copper mate of mine posts. Otherwise I ignore it completely.

Expand full comment

Go you! Self-powered internet for the win! You can still get the "is there new stuff?" dopamine hit from your hand-curated RSS-feed reader. No need to rely on the twitterz to guess it for you.

Expand full comment

I'm afraid FB is a bit indispensable for me for contacting various friends (real life ones!), being in contact with such things as swimming and surf lifesaving clubs of which I am an active member, and occasional BS. I tend to avoid anything overly political etc., and long ago gave up arguing with the ne'er-do-wells that inhabit the darker pits of FB. I do like some funny vids and of course cat videos...which is what the Interwebz was invented for anyway.

Expand full comment

Facebook is bit like nicotine. Lures you in with the promise of another hit but leaves a shit taste in the mouth afterwards. I don't like eating turds...

Expand full comment