4 Comments
Sep 30, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

i have been working from home a lot more now i have my internet back - just thinking about talking to someone f2f gives me the willies. How fast it is to change how we interact. Wonder if it will ever go completely back to normal handshakes and pats on the back. I was wondering the other day if we'll get more delineation on accents now we are only really talking to our own communities (zoom meetings and watching constant netflix throws a spanner in that theory though).

Physical labour on the other hand has increased for me - wfh means no commuting or needing to get ready beyond brushing teeth. This means i have more time to attack my weekend chores list - looking after 5 acres in spring is . ... busy. I can get the dogs walked and punch out a garden bed ready for planting and still be online for work at 8 in the morning. Just don't ask me to look someone in the eye.

Expand full comment

Yeah, I get the feeling when we get back to covid 'normal' I am going to find getting physically closer to people uncomfortable. I was never that comfortable with people being close before covid. On reflection, yeah just stay back people even after this is over.

Expand full comment

Even in the Independent Sovereign Nation of Westralia where we've been mostly back to normal for a while, everyone is still instinctively distancing. Watching movies and TV shows where people are in crowds or up close and personal with each other and think nothing of it is WEIRD. I can't imagine how weird training with real people, even half a dozen, would have been

Expand full comment