20 Comments
Jan 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

That photo is fucking triggering.

<rant>

Sometimes I feel the need to scream (silently, lest they hear) into the void when I see what the cloth-eared heathens have done to my pans. Life would be so much simpler if they just let the fucking things heat up sufficiently before putting anything in them. "I did heat it" No you fucking didn't. The temperature at which butter melts is not sufficient. Did I mention those things are triggering? And the scrubbing and scrubbing. Why? Why? If you just did the first thing right, the second would not be necessary.

</rant>

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I think the leather skinned pensioners of the Gold Coast use a similar process but with UV rays.

Expand full comment

Ok, wiz some cornflakes gently and then make an egg an flour batter with the cornflake stuff.

Bake some veges to par backed, and then when cool., roll them in the batter, or pour the batter over the tray.

return the veges to the oven and bake them hard.

Yum, Chrunchy baked veg...

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I think that's similar to the way my mother seasoned her wok back in the '80s!

Expand full comment

I moved into a new house last year and we have an induction cooktop. Had to buy all new pans as our older stuff, whilst still in good nick, just didn't work with induction. Spent a year using all the new stuff and was quite happy with it but then had an issue with the cooktop. A service bloke came out and did some repairs and when he wanted to test it, I handed him one of the new pans.

He sniffed, he actually sniffed in a disdainful manner. "Haven't you got any decent cast iron" was his question. I had one lying in the bottom drawer and pulled it out. I'd always been too scared to use something that weighed about 17 kgs on top of the stove.

Jaysus, the heat difference. The cast iron on the induction is just a dream. OK, if you want to put it into the oven after searing on the cooktop you may need to use a forklift, but for use on the induction it is just the best. Went out and bought a few different sizes and learned how to season them without resorting to a neighborhood food co-op.

Expand full comment

hey, I know you've already bought a block of iron, but check out these guys https://www.solidteknics.com/ they make single piece wrought iron pans, thinner and somewhat lighter than a cast iron pan.

Expand full comment

Rant of the day...so we're going to spend a squalling on some dinky submarines. We'll need at least twice that to get a nuclear power capability. Plus it's very difficult to recruit submariners.

Meanwhile we are dragging the chain on health, education and a swag of other stuff. The cost of one of these toys,vthat we have no idea how to operate, could fix first nation health issues in the wink of an eye.

So let's go ahead and destabilise our strategic position and why not paint a target on the roof of parliament house...

Expand full comment

Things have changed a bit. I didn’t receive a cast iron skillet when I was a youngster. I believe my parents bought me a case of top ramen . Microwaved with whatever scrap of meat I could conjur up I somehow survived . But good for you guys .

Expand full comment

"the most skilleting pleasure"..... I confess I have never thought of uniting those two words.

Expand full comment