13 Comments

I am SO enthused for a Cruel Stars story. I am considerably less enthused about discovering that Felafel is 30 years old and the accompanying reminder of my decrepit age 😭

Expand full comment

For myself I felt personally attacked.

Expand full comment

I did not need to know that Felafel is 30 years old -dammit.

Expand full comment

I wish I could follow the sage advice of "don't start reading unfinished trilogies". But I never can. So the "cruel" wait for book 3 goes on (and the sequel to Sleeper Agent!).

Expand full comment
author

Ha, Sleeper Agent 2 is also finished! Currently being recorded by Audible.

Expand full comment

Another year is a bummer but it is what it is. I look forward to reading The Javan War in the meantime!

Expand full comment

The Cruel Stars is currently my favourite science fiction universe. Neal Asher's Polity series comes close, but I like the Volume more. And I really want this fucking book.

Expand full comment

I think the cover looks good, except for the woman who looks a little incongruous within the design.

Is that Lucinda? …“ as she inspected her reflection in the armor glass………Severely pretty, she had been told by men she did not entirely trust. A little off-putting and perhaps unnecessarily discouraging according to girlfriends she probably could believe.” The woman on the cover looks to me to be doe-eyed and carrying a rather sexy pout. I know very little about book cover design though.

Expand full comment

This will be a highlight in a summer that started out really well. Well, winter for those of you stuck in the blustery and bitter cold antipodes.

Expand full comment

I really should start paying more attention to the patreon side! I lapsed with heavy life getting in the way but kept the payments going. Cant wait to read the cruel stars one. Reading is another thing that has lapsed a bit. Actually re-reading my old physical copy of Gene Wolfe's Book of the New Sun. Been nice to have a physical book in my hands again.

Expand full comment
author

That's an odd coincidence. I've never read GW but was thinking about starting just yesterday.

Expand full comment

i'm thinking about getting his other stories - the soldier ones in particular caught my eye. I really like the New Sun ones though - seems to capture that ageing earth feel.

Expand full comment

bring it on please

Expand full comment