17 Comments
Jun 20, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

This has been a Thing in football (all codes) for about 20 years. Maybe more.

Apparently good for muscle recovery and for faster healing of bruises and joint injury. Anything that reduces inflammation is good for recovery, I think.

Personally, I prefer a beer.

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

"oh you dont cold immerse? It is so amaaaazing for my body. You really must try it. I know a guy who sells them. Of course it is probably a good idea if you start with cold showers, not everyone has a tolerance like me". I went for a walk this morning and it was -6.7 feels like -10. I got an icecream headache without the joy of icecream.

Expand full comment
Jun 20, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I have nothing to recover from, so I'll be giving it a miss.

Expand full comment

You are behind the curb JB: the newest rage is Cryotherapy or the so called cold sauna. It's a liquid nitrogen bath (-170) which has a quicker effect: https://www.cryo.com.au/cryotherapy/

Expand full comment

Sitting in a bucket of ice doesn't have quite the same vibe as jumping into a fjord, but if you don't have one of those handy...

Expand full comment

Huberman talks about the dopamine effects of it too.

Still not going to get me to do it. Being cold is stupid.

Expand full comment

wasn't this also seen in an episode of Ted Lasso (yes I started to watch it, yes its kind).

Expand full comment

When I lived in Brisbane in 94, it was the ab blaster , which fast became an impromptu clothes horse.

In the 2000s it was gym classes, indoor cycling , then Boot camp , which was just an over grown high school PE class complete with a bunch of suck ups. Then it became: become a personal trainer and don't eat carbs, only protein, Now its all of the above and onlyfans grifters selling used gym clothes.

Expand full comment