12 Comments

Even buying the same goddamn style the next year doesn't guarantee they fit. I was in New York in 2018 and upon the advice of a friend tried on Levis in the hope they would fit my womanly curves, since I am cursed with a short waist, long legs, and "childbearing hips", which means finding pants, never mind jeans, that go over my hips but also fit my waist can be a challenge. I found them, dear Cheeseburgerers, in Macy's, and bought 5 pairs. Huzzah!

In the intervening years since that trip I found Levis in Australia stocking the exact same style, and having worn several pairs to paper thin ribbons I checked that I was ordering the correct style, and bought 5 more pairs. The new ones seemed a different fabric, thinner, less substantial, than the New York originals, and while they fit, the fit just seemed that little bit different. They don't sit on my waist quite the same, which requires me, after standing up, to haul my jeans back up to my waist level, so they're not hanging off my hips weirdly, exacerbating my muffin top and putting the world at risk of plumber's crack were I to bend over.

My grief and disappointment is eclipsed only by my regret of foolishly wearing those initial perfect jeans every day as if there were an endless supply of them and I didn't need to husband them as the rare and precious resource they turned out to be.

Expand full comment

What you need to do is buy a pair when there's a two for one special, and buy two exactly the same. It saves time trying on more than one thing, and it will drive your wife nuts.

Of course, that only solves the new season problem, not the denim mountain problem, but I am just one man who can't be expected to fix everything.

Expand full comment

Just the other day i was reading about these ferals who dont wash their clothes. Did you post it here or was it somewhere else i saw it? The no-wash-jean movement:

https://www.bbc.com/culture/article/20230529-the-people-who-dont-wash-their-clothes

Expand full comment

In the 21st century, with access to a long history of working out the best way to cloth our naked apes, we still not only not seem to fail to develop an optimal method, but we seem to devote an inordinate amount of resources to make it harder, more wasteful and still leave us unsatisfied.

why is that?

personally I blame capitalism, but that is such a catch all as saying Newtonian physics governs pool but it doesn't help me sink the yellow in the corner pocket.

Expand full comment