20 Comments
May 5, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Itsa me, insomniac.

I've been doing Duolingo Italian for 1108 days in a row (and counting), and there's no way I'm close to fluent. I can muddle my way through a conversation and make myself understood, but I'd be messing up my questos and my quellos, etc.

Everyone has their learning strengths, but my biggest barrier is having someone to talk to on a regular basis to practice. I feel much more confident on the written side.

I did a few classes a couple of years ago, and I think they help a lot, but they moved too fast for me.

Anyway, from what I've heard, peeps really appreciate any effort you've put in to learn their language.

Expand full comment
May 4, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I found Duolingo helped bolster my Schoolboy French to workable Tourist French. Combined with knowing some actual French folks hereabouts I understand my accent is pretty decent, so much so I had French folks just launching into lengthy diatribes I had little to no hope of understanding. Lucky the French like Aussies!

Expand full comment
May 4, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I'm personally more fond of Chinese, particularly Szechuan

Expand full comment

I've been plugging away at French with Duolingo for the last few years, one lesson a day every day (I'm nothing if not a sucker for that gamified streak maintenance). While I don't think I even have school student French yet, I've had moments this year where I realise that my fluency has come on in leaps and bounds, usually when I read a sentence and realise I know its gist without having to stop and think through each word.

This has also made me realise the value of just plodding away at it consistently, and slowly building up that vocabulary of words through repeat exercises. Regular, tedious practice makes you better at something! WHO KNEW??

Expand full comment

I did Latin last year, which is great if you want to tell people which god is going to throw a thunderbolt at you, but was a little lacking otherwise.

I literally cracked it open again today to resume my German.

Expand full comment

I think Google Translate has a better chance of success ☺️ Welcome to the dark side JB 😂😂😂😂

Expand full comment

I'm native english speaker, and learned a second language later in life, and I found it really helps to know how to shape your tongue and lips, because it makes your words come off your tongue easier. That might be obvious thing or not, as I said, I learned later on in life. This might be sound even stranger, but I did this by first watching native speakers on you tube, then speaking to myself in the mirror. Once the language flows off tongue in a more natural I found it's much easier to learn. Sort of like how learning a song is often easier than memorizing a written speech even if they have same number of words.

Expand full comment

I've been doing Duolingo Italian to maintain my tourist-level Italian. It's good, but I do question the utility of phrases such as "My sister is in prison."

Expand full comment