20 Comments
May 9, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I am a huge fan of Liu Cixin's The Three-Body Problem trilogy have read it twice now. My son (the_weapon_against_society) is working through it in Mandarin (show off). I am really keen to see the Netflix series having watched the Chinese Tencent series earlier this year. But you are spot on great premise, but as an explanation for the Femi Paradox, deflating.

Expand full comment

I find the idea of planets comprising a single civilisation interesting, to say the least. We can't get our shit together here to project ourselves as a single human civilisation into near space, so why would we have a single coordinated approach to communicating with any alien civilisation?

More likely any human encounter with an alien civilisation and would result in asking them to help destroy those arseholes on the next continent.

Expand full comment

The "Do unto others before they do unto you" philosophy .

Expand full comment

I think that theory needs to report itself to the office of Occam's Razor for discipline and reeducation.

Expand full comment

Didn't Douglas Adams have this idea too?The Krikkits lived on a planet with no visibility of the rest of space due to being enveloped by a fog of space dust, until one day an alien artefact crashed.

"Upon first witnessing the glory and splendor of the Universe, they casually, whimsically, decided to destroy it, remarking, "It'll have to go.""

[They didn't know that the space dust was a sentient supercomputer that was setting them up, but anyway]

Expand full comment

You should go back. I read it twice and it is more amazing in scope than 2001 - A space odyssey

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023·edited May 11, 2023

I really enjoyed the whole Three-Body Problem overall. The first book felt slow I guess, but I usually try and get past my initial feelings to give a new book/series a chance. With book 2 & 3 I got into the groove and loved it. Shame it all came to an end :(

Expand full comment

What happens when one civilisation decides it's much simpler to just burn down the forest?

Expand full comment

I mean the biggest challenge when it comes to the fermi paradox is it involves aliens. Given we have yet to find an extra-terrestrial species trying to extrapolate anything about their intelligence or reasons is going to be biggly speculative.

Expand full comment

Compare with the controversy about whether we should be using radio telescopes to try to send signals to remote stars. Some halfwits were collecting money from people who paid for the privilege of sending their own personal message to whoever on Trappist or wherever it was might be listening. I lean in the STFU direction myself - given we really have NFI what any aliens would be like (because they would be aliens) it's best to be circumspect and not just yell at them and draw attention to ourselves.

Expand full comment

I listened to the first one on audiobook but also stopped there as the narrator was probably the most monotone boring slow voice i have ever heard. I had to bump it up to 1.5x or something to get through it. I have a few credits so maybe i should try and push through unless its the same guy (been listening to the Malazan book of the fallen series and need a break in between books - bang for buck with those things! I can feel the weight of the MB size of the files in my phone).

Also counting on if other life is out there that it will just be a relationship of waving out the window at each other (a wave that might take 350 odd years to get there that is). We have more pressing things to worry about apparently - like pathogens that were around long before we were a species locked up in permafrost and now at the point where they are being nudged awake and told to get up out of bed for breakfast. Getting my flamethrower off the shelf just in case - have baptised it the "R.J.Macready"

Expand full comment

I tend towards the idea that we may not be at the level of the hunter here. We may be more like an anthill in the forest. Not really worth even paying attention to yet.

Expand full comment