11 Comments
Nov 4, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I'm currently listening to a very uninteresting trainer on a particularly dull subject ... so I thought I'd google the phrases.

I like that google suggested that what I really should be searching for when I searched for "A rush of glandular daring" was "A rush of glandular dating" which sadly also produces no results.

Only one of the phrases got a hit

Expand full comment

A father of one of my buddies ... a great old curmudgeon.... used to say “ he’s dumber than homemade shit”. I’m not sure I’ve deciphered it’s meaning exactly. And not as refined as your elegant prose but it made me laugh and I find myself saying it often . More and more lately.

Expand full comment

A face like 100 miles of bad road?

Expand full comment

There's a touch of profound and durable obscenity in the comments. I like it.

Expand full comment

A comment I heard that amused me,

“It tasted like a turd covered in fly spray"

Expand full comment

I still use the one that Lori threatened PNB with. 'Do that again and you'll wake up with a crowd around you.'

Expand full comment

They sound like yours. Or perhaps Dry Cleaning lyrics? Perhaps, like them, they're things you've heard or thought you heard in passing, or on the TV, or overheard conversations? Worth writing down, all of them. I'm particularly fond of loud, anarchic joy...

Expand full comment