26 Comments

Those do look like proper chips, but at what point does the transition from fry to chip go too far? You know those "chips" from really fancy restaurants where you end up with some sort of Jenga stack of 4 or 5 one inch square prism slabs of potato. Have they crossed into roast potato territory?

and as an aside, how many potatoes does it take to kill an Irishman?

None

Expand full comment

you can do em in one of the new-fangled air fryers.. peel an cut the spuds yourself.

5ml of beef dripping. 35 minutes.. jd

Expand full comment

Chips v Fries

Scallops v Cakes

Potato Wars are fought in the fryers of our nation.

Expand full comment

Murdering hoboes. This made my f’n day. Of course now I need to find a fat potato fried in murdered hobo fat . I’m off

Expand full comment

Chips v Fries

Scallops v Cakes

Potato Wars are fought in the fryers of our nation.

Expand full comment

It is excruciating, trying to get proper English style chips around here. The best ones I ever had were in Scotland somewhere. Amazing stuff.

Expand full comment

My god, chips that look like they have seen a knife wielded by a human. Heavenly.

Expand full comment

i am so glad i came to this post late - my favourite topic! And with the current shortage of potato goods, very frustrating.

Expand full comment

I think the fondest chip memory I have was the cafe at UQ. Big chunky MFers that were actually left in the fryer long enough. Discovered aioli there too. Certainly got me on campus more than the classes

Expand full comment

alas for me it looks like there is no outdoor seating which seems a crime in a climate such as Brisbane.

Expand full comment

That's just a normal night for my dear old Liverpool born parents. The chip pan is nearly as old as me, sporting a rich golden brown patina from the decades of oil baked into its aluminium skin. Served alongside egg and beans and sausages.

Expand full comment

There's a song that goes with this meal. And you can line-dance to it. The blog bots won't let me post a link, but if you get the urge to boot scoot after dinner, Alan Jackson's 'meat and potato man' is the tune I would choose for you. And yes I listen to way too much Murri Country for my own good.

Expand full comment

There's a song that goes with this meal. And you can line dance to i. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9f8ZeCiMWc

Expand full comment

Damn, now I want a chip butty and the chip shop isn't open yet

Expand full comment