12 Comments

Our family used to go to the local all you can eat buffet for get togethers and bdays etc. Until one occasion a few yrs back when I witnessed a couple of snot nosed kids rummaging through the selected entrees and desserts with their bare hands. The chocolate fountain turned into a bacteria pond. Haven’t been able to do buffet since.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I Dont do hotel buffets often due to not being much of a traveler. BUT, the family and I went via Singapore a few years back…..my heavens, the Brekky buffet was just awesome. As much as you could eat. In roughly a dozen or more National cuisines. Wifey held back somewhat, but son and I (after my prodding) figured we’ll be out all day, finding food could be challenging, best we load up at breakfast! Fruit, omelettes, bacon, snags, cereal, yadayada we had the lot, and were well satisfied.

Expand full comment

You gotta make that Qantas club fee worth it! Also by law you have to have at least one beer no matter what time of day it is!

Expand full comment

There's a lot to be said for a good breakfast buffet. In pre-apocalypse times it was my favourite reason to get out of bed at what I considered to be an unsociable hour on an weekend and leave the house.

The Atrium restaurant at Crown Perth does a killer breakfast buffet, or at least they did pre-apocalypse. Their upscale Epicurean buffet restaurant does a killer spread for lunch and dinner. When I worked at Crown my Dad rang me to see if I was free for lunch as my mum was otherwise engaged, and we went to Epicurean. He had it all plotted out, he ate a plateful of their excellent carvery and other delights, and then had 3 plates of desserts (their dessert station is sublime). When he hit his second plate of dessert I realised why he'd made sure mum wasn't around for this family get together. As a retired RN she would have had a lot to say about his blood sugars and wouldn't have allowed a 3rd trip to dessertland. As an obedient child I could say nothing of course, beyond confirming what was good for my own trip to the dessert bar 😇

Expand full comment

Best ever breakfast buffet at Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar. Amazing choices to cover every possible ethnic option with an outstanding egg station. Timed our stay to coincide with Ramadan meaning no bacon or ham in sight, but alternatives went up a level to compensate.

Expand full comment

Oh, the omelette station!

Expand full comment

This is our civilization writ large I fear.

Expand full comment

I travel a fair bit for work, and have had to limit my exposure to breakfast buffets because once I'm in there, all self control is out the window. These days I try to find a nearby bakery as first preference, a cafe as second.

Having said that, I do love me a good buffet, particularly when I'm travelling outside of Australia. I still dream about the chicken rendang I had for breakfast at the Sheraton in Kuala Lumpur. Best hangover cure ever!

Expand full comment