13 Comments
Apr 12, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

You don’t just retire them to the bottom of the bottom drawer? Then you never have to say goodbye, just see you later.

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

The grief of letting a favourite piece of clothing go is quite unique. Value $29 Uniqlo jeans. Thank you for your service.

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

This is why you should never wash jeans.

Expand full comment

some Uniqlo gear has some suprising quality to them.

Expand full comment

I had an old set of DCU coveralls that did yeoman's service after their year in the desert. I have similar feelings about them as you have for your dearly departed jeans.

Expand full comment

My niece made me a quilt out of my old jeans. Bestest Xmas ever. Have you seen HALO? Any thoughts? Better than I thought it would be so far. Fairly gritty and dark. It’s refreshing . The Woke sci fi movement is already tiresome and boring as hell.

Expand full comment

ha. I did that for my favourite pair of long leg cargoes. They'd reached the exalted position of yard work only - but the rip in the knee from a fence accident and the split along the seam under the leg showed way too much of what was on the inside of the pants (meat and potatoes) that they finally got consigned to the bin. Couldn't even use them for rags

Expand full comment