18 Comments

If you think about it, what a miracle all this stuff is. My grandma rode to school on a horse cart, and they didn't get running water till the sixties. Now as I type, this latest version of Word tells me I'm swearing too much. Just like Grandma did. Weird.

Expand full comment

Ok, interesting. Cos I'm a Microsoft person from way back. Been thinking about it's dictation software, but keep hearing it's not as good as ..... Hmmm. Really want to get something out for the Jan/Feb gift-card times.

Lets see about setting it up with my voice etc. If I have the time (ugh - too much to do).

You know JB - your line in How to be a Writer is soo true - if you're on your own with no people demanding deadlines - you're f'd. Hmm. Yep.

Anyways. Good to hear your processes. I'm getting there. Slowly but surely.

Expand full comment

Hey JB, thanks for the short chapter preview, but did you really have to make the writing so small? I had to blow it up considerably to be able to read it

Expand full comment

"fondle slab" LOL!

Expand full comment

This is quite impressive, you must be pretty happy soldiering on through the migraine via dictating

Expand full comment

So, how do you get MS Word to spell ‘Kolhammer’? I have a similar problem, with unusual character names that it won’t recognise (I.e. ‘Bagg’ gets me ‘bag’).

Expand full comment

Does dictating take some getting used to?

Expand full comment

And maybe a coaster as well?

Expand full comment