6 Comments

Frankly I’m shocked they know what a pencil and paper are for. Kinda like handing em a rotary phone and asking them to make a call.

Expand full comment

I think that a lot of those ideas are going to get traction. In-person dialog-based assessment. Doesn't scale well, but I think that it's about all we have left.

Hand written assignments? (https://www.hackster.io/news/homework-machine-hand-writes-ai-generated-assignments-52a2ad5a46c1) Not so much.

Mind you, there's another aspect to this that I saw on the ytubes last night: leaning into the chat-AI as a sort of Socratic tutor. Dialog-based exploratory tuition with an entity that knows everything and has limitless patience. You'd have to be careful that you didn't get it going off on one of its inventive modes, of course. But that'll be a solved problem before too long. Could actually be really good for education, at least for those who want to be educated.

Expand full comment

Nice one Murph. I'm sure it won't be long before people without any feeling for my sector will start relying upon AI output, without thought.

Expand full comment