13 Comments

Thanks for the motivational pep talk! I've accumulated more than a linear meter of as-yet unread novels on my bookshelves. I like buying books, but I haven't managed to kick the screen habit since it formed. Perhaps if JB's doing it, I can too...

Even retired my bedside lamp, so that's something I'll have to fix (screens being self-illuminating, it hasn't stopped night reading: just the night-reading of books).

Expand full comment

Le Carre's dense and twisted plot lines can be a nightmare (pardon the pun) sleep-wise. Trying to remember who's who and what is, and isn't, important to the Head-Shed is frustrating. I try to keep to his early stuff. TTSS is a classic, as is The Little Drummer Girl and Smiley's People. It's the decision-makers' indifference to the fate of the protagonists and NPCs that is most heart-breaking. It always reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FHpOLiobmA

If you want some Le Carre lite, try Graham Greene's political novels. It's like coming off the freeway on your bike shifting down gears steadily until the adrenaline starts to wear off and you strip off all the armour and just want to have a cup of warm milk and go to bed.

Expand full comment

The sleep thing is spot on. I read every night, and have just finished struggling through a History of Japan, a subject I want to know more about, but what a punish that was. I then kicked off on the latest Billy Connolly offering, Windswept & Interesting. Not only a much easier read - I can hear him reading it in my head, but it clicked that my recent poor sleep had reversed to a more normal pattern…I have resolved to take the harder reads requiring more attention away from bedtime and use the perceived ‘easier’ reads to relax before I conk out. We’ll see…

Expand full comment

Cool to hear you have been reading more, this no doubt will result in recommendations to add to my own almost ridiculously long to_be_read_pile (my Goodreads app lists 505 books). In the last couple of months, my work announced a restructure so I began stress reading as a coping/avoidance mechanism. While my continued employment was confirmed the routine left me with a good habit of reading a couple of hours a day.

Expand full comment

Been so long since i've sat down with a book. It's a bit disheartening really. Although i do have the audible account cranking - doing a mindless chore outside like weeding or moving logs around is so much better listening to a good book. Although those gold nuggets of a good story matched with an exceptional narrator can be hard to find. I usually have to have the speed set to 1.3 or in some dire circumstances 1.5. But the last couple of books i listened to were excellent - Evan Winter's The Burning series. Read by a guy called Prentice Onayemi. Different from the usual fantasy because it is based in an African facsimile world rather than the usual whitey with white elves and white dwarfs. But the narrating is top notch, one of the best i've come across.

Expand full comment

I took your advice and read rather than watch TV last night and it was a real joy to just dive into and focus on the text rather than fret about choosing the one episode of something to watch on the eleventy billion streaming services I seem to have acquired. Thank you.

Expand full comment

That’s interesting about the improved sleep. Just yesterday ms insomniac was told she should read before bed rather than end up asleep in front of the tv, in order to improve her sleep hygiene. Of course, she won’t be reading. I’ll be reading and she’ll be listening and drift off, so I will probably end up reading it twice. We’re starting with The Turn of the Screw.

Expand full comment

While waiting for your next batch of tomes to appear, I have been going through my Len Deighton collection and enjoying it as much as I did 40 years ago.

Expand full comment

I read his entire catalogue during the first great lockdown of 2020, I envy you right now.

Expand full comment

Next one for me on the kindle then. Thanks for the rec

Expand full comment

Have you read "When the Sparrow Falls" by Neil Sharpson. It's not Le Carre but it takes me straight back to that era. The writing is pretty good too.

Expand full comment