6 Comments
May 3, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

" feels like a Tom Clancy novel but well written and hyperreal" best backhanded compliment I've read this week.

Expand full comment

I have seen this book and considered it. Re: USN carrier groups getting their a#$es handed to them. The bad guys have been thinking about this since WW2. It's going to happen along with other fatted calves getting put to the knife by some ruthless actor.

Expand full comment

Is "toil paper" what you write on when the words just aren't coming?

Expand full comment

This post came out just as i was in the market for a new audio book so i got it based on the usual quality of recommendations. I haven't picked up a real book in years - living on 5 acres means a to do list that i will hand down to my children, but the rise of audiobooks means i can get my story fix and do jobs!

The format wasn't too bad either - i've listened to a few BBC radio plays for Gaimans books - the multi author thing struggles sometimes when characters traverse narrator arcs (radio plays get around this by one person sticking to one character) but i didn't seem to notice too much in this. My brain had to do some mental gymnastics over the almost Mcguffin like cyber powers of the Chinese (with no response from the yanks) until i drew a link between the Germans and the enigma machine and i could just write it off as a modern day equiv of that. The interview at the end with Admiral Stavridis was interesting as well to get some context into his brain process.

Expand full comment

I'm going to have to completely disagree with JB here. I hated it. I know it is a novel and all but the sheer stupidity of the science and engineering throughout the book just set my teeth on edge.

Expand full comment

Excellent... but, it can all be avoided by the results of WW3.1 - there, a happy thought to fix the white shit.

Expand full comment